Fostering in Houston

My name is: Gigi
Age (estimated DOB): 9/26/2008
Primary Color: Fawn (Tan)
Weight: 10
Gender: Female
Location (City, State): Houston
My adoption readiness status: I am available for adoption
My optimal Adoptive Home: Moderate Energy/Activity
Has someone that is home mostly during the day
Is okay with a dog in their lap quite frequently
I Do Well With: Children under 12 unknown
Children over 12 unknown
Cats unknown
Other small dogs yes
Medium or Large Dogs no
Apartment Homes maybe
We have selected 'Maybe' as an option for apartment living. These are the requirements that must be met for this IG to be considered for an apartment home: Still need to evaluate if Gigi will potty on leash.
At night, I prefer to sleep in: A dog bed
Walking on a leash I do fine on a leash for trips to the vet or other outings, but I don't particularly care for long walks
Crate training-please note that we teach crating as a 'safe happy personal space' where the IG can rest/sleep when confinement is necessary. Crates should NEVER be used as a punishment or 'time out' space. I do just fine being in my crate for reasonable amounts of time.
Italian Greyhounds are known for housebreaking issues and most will have occasional accidents. Many come to us as surrenders due to excessive potty accidents indoors. This is typically the result of poor potty routines within the previous home so we do typically get them on track fairly quickly. As an IG parent you must be willing to commit to a structured and reasonable routine to keep your iggy from having excessive indoor accidents. My house-training Status is: Very rare or no indoor accidents
I know how to use designated potty pads indoors
I know how to use a supervised dog door when the humans are home
A little more about me and my personality: Very affectionate, loves to be held. New people and environments are initially very frightening.
If I have a known medical issue or am taking any medications, they are listed here: Dental cleaning pending.