Wallace

Fostering in Lawton, OK

My name is: Wallace
Age (estimated DOB): 9/18/11 (estimated)
Primary Color: Blue Fawn (Tan with Gray undertones)
Weight: 12 lbs
Gender: Male
Location (City, State): Lawton, OK
My adoption readiness status: My foster home is helping me with a behavioral, emotional, or medical situation, so I would only be available at this time to a family willing and able to take on and commit to a special needs IG
My optimal Adoptive Home: Low Energy/Activity
Has Adults Only in it
Has a Canine Companion
Has an area that can be set up for me to stay in during a full work day with potty pads
Has time and patience to dedicate to continuing my social rehabilitation
Must have a securely fenced in yard (not an available dog park area)
I Do Well With: Children under 12 no
Children over 12 no
Cats yes
Other small dogs yes
Medium or Large Dogs yes
Apartment Homes no
At night, I prefer to sleep in: My kennel
Italian Greyhounds are known for housebreaking issues and most will have occasional accidents. Many come to us as surrenders due to excessive potty accidents indoors. This is typically the result of poor potty routines within the previous home so we do typically get them on track fairly quickly. As an IG parent you must be willing to commit to a structured routine to keep your iggy from having excessive indoor accidents. My house-training Status is: We are working on it!
A little more about me and my personality: Wallace has made a lot of progress since he entered rescue, but there is still work to do.  He loves his foster mom and will follow her around the house asking for attention and wanting to be petted.  He isn't afraid of his foster dad, but doesn't go to him for attention.  He is scared of the two children in the home and will stay in his crate when they are around.  As soon as they leave for school, Wallace starts whining to come out so that he can follow his foster mom around.  Wallace enjoys going out in the backyard on warm days, but only if his foster mom goes out with him.  He quickly discovered that human food is much tastier than dog food, and when his foster mom is eating at the table, he will come over and put his feet on her leg or arm and beg for little bits of food.  Although he doesn't really understand how to interact with other dogs, he finds comfort in the other dogs in his foster home and will follow them around and copy their behavior.  Wallace is slowly coming out of his shell and learning how great it is to be a pet!
If I have a known medical issue or am taking any medications, they are listed here: Currently taking melatonin and coconut oil for dry skin and hair loss.