Tavish

Fostering in Austin

My name is: Tavish
Age (estimated DOB): 05-06-10
Primary Color: Red
Weight: 15
Gender: Male
Location (City, State): Austin, TX
My adoption readiness status: My foster home is helping me with a behavioral, emotional, or medical situation, so I would only be available at this time to a family willing and able to take on and commit to a special needs IG
My optimal Adoptive Home: Low Energy/Activity
Has Adults Only in it
Has an Italian Greyhound Companion
Has someone that is home mostly during the day
Has someone that can come home at lunch and let me out to potty
I Do Well With: Children under 12 no
Children over 12 unknown
Cats unknown
Other small dogs unknow
Medium or Large Dogs unknown
Apartment Homes yes-I am low energy and walk and potty well on a leash
At night, I prefer to sleep in: Pen w/ my comfy bed
Walking on a leash I walk very well on a leash and enjoy going for walks
Crate training-please note that we teach crating as a 'safe happy personal space' where the IG can rest/sleep when confinement is necessary. Crates should NEVER be used as a punishment or 'time out' space. I consider the crate my safe space and don't mind being in there at all for reasonable amounts of time. If the door is left open, I will put myself inside to rest.
Italian Greyhounds are known for housebreaking issues and most will have occasional accidents. Many come to us as surrenders due to excessive potty accidents indoors. This is typically the result of poor potty routines within the previous home so we do typically get them on track fairly quickly. As an IG parent you must be willing to commit to a structured and reasonable routine to keep your iggy from having excessive indoor accidents. My house-training Status is: Very rare or no indoor accidents
A little more about me and my personality:

I'm a long-legged, elegant boy who will charm the kibble off you. I am mostly blind (see info on that, below) but please don't call me a "special needs dog" because I feel like a normal dog. I love short walks, neck rubs and laying in the sunshine. I'm an eager eater and the sound of kibble in a dish makes me happy. After meals, I put myself to bed in a 2'x4' pen my foster parents set up for me and it's my happy place. I love a schedule and practically have a clock in my brain which lets me know when to go out and when to eat, so I appreciate people who understand that.

I'm smart! I've learned many commands from my foster folks: -Watch (to let me know if I'm about to walk into something), -Lie down,  -Go to your bed, -Let's walk, -Step (if there's a step or curb I should know about), On your rug (if I'm w/ my people in the kitchen, so I'm not underfoot) and -Ready? (when you're about to pick me up, so I'm not startled), -Stretch (I do an awesome Downward Dog pose), -Go potty. I'm working on: -Come, -Stay, -Leave it, & -Back up. If you whisper "Sh-sh-sh-sh-sh" I get sleepy and snuggle into my bed.

Despite my previous life, I am loving and able to bond with someone who will love and care for me. I come with my own lead, Martingale collar, plush bed and soft blanket (which I love.)

If I have a known medical issue or am taking any medications, they are listed here: -Drops in R eye for low pressure.
-I'm mostly blind w/ some sight in my right eye, but I'm comfortable with it and confident enough to navigate around my foster parents' condo w/ an occasional "watch" command to help me avoid furniture and walls.
-Due to long term dental neglect, I do not have any teeth left but I eat just fine
-I sometimes get a tummy ache from stress, so I am currently eating Rx Low Fat dog food

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BF9Q6mQvinU