Sterling

Fostering in Austin

My name is: Sterling
Age (estimated DOB): 12/14/15
Primary Color: Blue (Gray)
Weight: 23 lbs
Gender: Male
Location (City, State): Austin, TX
My adoption readiness status: I am available for adoption
My optimal Adoptive Home: High Energy/Activity
Has Adults Only in it
Is okay with a dog in their lap quite frequently
Has prior experience with a high energy IG
Must have a securely fenced in yard (not an available dog park area)
I Do Well With: Children under 12 no
Children over 12 unknown
Cats yes
Other small dogs yes
Medium or Large Dogs yes
Apartment Homes no
At night, I prefer to sleep in: My kennel
Walking on a leash I walk well on a leash but will pull if I see other people or animals. I want to say to everyone!
Crate training-please note that we teach crating as a 'safe happy personal space' where the IG can rest/sleep when confinement is necessary. Crates should NEVER be used as a punishment or 'time out' space. I do just fine being in my crate for reasonable amounts of time.
Italian Greyhounds are known for housebreaking issues and most will have occasional accidents. Many come to us as surrenders due to excessive potty accidents indoors. This is typically the result of poor potty routines within the previous home so we do typically get them on track fairly quickly. As an IG parent you must be willing to commit to a structured and reasonable routine to keep your iggy from having excessive indoor accidents. My house-training Status is: Very rare or no indoor accidents
A little more about me and my personality: I am very energetic and still have a lot of puppy in me. I love other dogs and people but I don't always remember how big I am and can be a bit rough at times. My foster family is working on teaching me doggy manners, but I get excited and forget it's not nice to jump on people. Sometimes I get anxious in a new environment with new people, but I warm up quickly. I am trying to get the cats to play with me, but they always run away. I love toys, especially ones I can chase and chew on!