Pola

Fostering in New Braunfels

My name is: Pola
Age (estimated DOB): 10
Primary Color: Blue (Gray)
Weight: 12
Gender: Female
Location (City, State): New Braunfels Texas
My adoption readiness status: I am available for adoption
My optimal Adoptive Home: Moderate Energy/Activity
Has an Italian Greyhound Companion
I Do Well With: Children under 12 unknown
Children over 12 unknown
Cats unknown
Other small dogs yes
Medium or Large Dogs unknown
Apartment Homes no
At night, I prefer to sleep in: A dog bed
My human's bed
a larger kennel with the other dog(s)
Walking on a leash I do fine on a leash for trips to the vet or other outings, but I don't particularly care for long walks
Crate training-please note that we teach crating as a 'safe happy personal space' where the IG can rest/sleep when confinement is necessary. Crates should NEVER be used as a punishment or 'time out' space. I do just fine being in my crate for reasonable amounts of time.
Italian Greyhounds are known for housebreaking issues and most will have occasional accidents. Many come to us as surrenders due to excessive potty accidents indoors. This is typically the result of poor potty routines within the previous home so we do typically get them on track fairly quickly. As an IG parent you must be willing to commit to a structured and reasonable routine to keep your iggy from having excessive indoor accidents. My house-training Status is: Very rare or no indoor accidents
A little more about me and my personality: My favorite thing to do is to hang out with my IG family or Mom.  My Mom tells me I am very sweet and loving. I'm most happy playing and sleeping with my other dog siblings.  I enjoy walking around an enclosed back yard and sitting on the patio watching my Mom working and the birds.  I have a very favorite stuffed toy squirrel that I will play with myself, with my siblings or Mom.  I enjoy eating meals and treats and try to get people food but Mom says "no" to the last one.
If I have a known medical issue or am taking any medications, they are listed here: None