Highland Village, TX



My name is: Nelli
Age: (est) 03-14-09
Color: Blue
Weight: ~ 11 lbs
Gender: Female
Location: Highland Village, Texas
My adoption readiness status: My foster home is helping me with a behavioral, emotional, or medical situation, so I would only be available at this time to a family willing and able to take on and commit to a special needs IG
My optimal Adoptive Home: Low Energy/Activity
Has a Canine Companion
Has an Italian Greyhound Companion
Has someone that can come home at lunch and let me out to potty
Has an area that can be set up for me to stay in during a full work day with potty pads
Is okay with a dog that prefers canine companionship to human companionship
Is familiar with fearful behavior and/or has experience with dogs that have been abused/neglected in their past
Has time and patience to dedicate to continuing my social rehabilitation
Must have a securely fenced in yard (not an available dog park area)
Must be in Texas or Oklahoma- out of state adoption would be highly unlikely for me
Children under 12 yes
Children over 12 unknown
Cats unknown
Other small dogs yes
Medium or Large Dogs unknown
Apartment Homes no
At night, I prefer to sleep in: A dog bed
My house-training Status is: Very rare or no indoor accidents
I know how to use a supervised dog door when the humans are home
A little more about me and my personality: I am very fearful of humans but when caught I really enjoy being loved on until I am ready to go! I like to be between the human and the dog door so I can get out fast! But I am making slow progress. It doesn’t take my foster mom as long to catch me as it used to. I do love my dog bed! And I like toys too! So I think I have been in a loving home at some time in my life.
I came into rescue really really thin so my foster mom now has to watch me because I will sneak food if I can get into the other dogs food! I have learned certain commands like “no.” I am smart and I want to be loved! Are you the one willing to take a chance on me. Give me the time and I think I can be a wonderful pet again!
If I have a known medical issue or am taking any medications, they are listed here: N/A