Muesli

Fostering in Nederland

My name is: Muesli
Age (estimated DOB): 4 years  02/05/2015
Primary Color: Blue (Gray)
Weight: 9 pounds 3 oz.
Gender: Male
Location (City, State): Nederland, Texas
My adoption readiness status: I am available for adoption
My optimal Adoptive Home: High Energy/Activity
Has a Canine Companion
Has an Italian Greyhound Companion
Has someone that is home mostly during the day
Has someone that can come home at lunch and let me out to potty
Has an area that can be set up for me to stay in during a full work day with potty pads
Is okay with a dog in their lap quite frequently
Is okay with a dog that prefers canine companionship to human companionship
I Do Well With: Children under 12 unknown
Children over 12 yes
Cats unknown
Other small dogs yes
Medium or Large Dogs yes
Apartment Homes maybe
At night, I prefer to sleep in: A dog bed
My human's bed
Walking on a leash I walk very well on a leash and enjoy going for walks
Crate training-please note that we teach crating as a 'safe happy personal space' where the IG can rest/sleep when confinement is necessary. Crates should NEVER be used as a punishment or 'time out' space. I consider the crate my safe space and don't mind being in there at all for reasonable amounts of time. If the door is left open, I will put myself inside to rest.
Italian Greyhounds are known for housebreaking issues and most will have occasional accidents. Many come to us as surrenders due to excessive potty accidents indoors. This is typically the result of poor potty routines within the previous home so we do typically get them on track fairly quickly. As an IG parent you must be willing to commit to a structured and reasonable routine to keep your iggy from having excessive indoor accidents. My house-training Status is: Occasional accidents
A little more about me and my personality: I am a very active little iggy. I sometimes play Superman jumping from the floor to the arm or back of the couch to the chair. I even chase my tail and sometimes catch it! I have been free fed, but would be fine eating in my kennel, since I like to guard the other bowls and divvy up the pieces of food one at a time delivering it to my friends. I just bump them out of the way, if I need to. My foster parents have learned that I would rather be picked up when they are sitting and call me to jump up. I will be fine with children who are old enough to understand that. I like to bark when my people leave and return to the house and when I am running and playing in the backyard with my whippet and iggy friends. Otherwise, I’m a quiet little guy who likes to snuggle and nap. I am doing great with my potty training. My foster mom lets me out often with the other dogs. Sometimes I even go to the door to let her know I’ve got to go. I occasionally have pee accidents in the house. I should be able to easily learn to use a doggy door! I’m excellent at pooping in the yard. I can even go potty on a leash, if I need to. If I need to be left in the kennel for more than 3 hours I would like to be in a larger kennel, so that I can have my bed and blanket with me on one end and a pee pad with bowls of water and a few kibbles. My foster mom puts pee pads around my kennel just in case I decide to hike and pee! Oh yea, I really don’t like it very much when my foster parents try to brush my teeth or put gel on them. But I sure do love to give hugs and kisses, after all I am Italian!
If I have a known medical issue or am taking any medications, they are listed here: I’m healthy. I take Ivermectin/Pvrantel on the 17th of each month to prevent heart worms. I am given OraVet Plaque Prevention Gel once a week to keep my teeth strong.