Maggie

Fostering in Sugarland

My name is: Maggie
Age (estimated DOB): 09/2008
Primary Color: Fawn (Tan)
Weight: 11
Gender: Female
Location (City, State): Sugar Land, TX
My adoption readiness status: I am available for adoption
My optimal Adoptive Home: Moderate Energy/Activity
Has a Canine Companion
Has an Italian Greyhound Companion
Has an area that can be set up for me to stay in during a full work day with potty pads
I Do Well With: Children under 12 yes
Children over 12 yes
Cats yes
Other small dogs yes
Medium or Large Dogs unknown
Apartment Homes no
At night, I prefer to sleep in: My human's bed
Walking on a leash I walk very well on a leash and enjoy going for walks
Crate training-please note that we teach crating as a 'safe happy personal space' where the IG can rest/sleep when confinement is necessary. Crates should NEVER be used as a punishment or 'time out' space. I do just fine being in my crate for reasonable amounts of time.
Italian Greyhounds are known for housebreaking issues and most will have occasional accidents. Many come to us as surrenders due to excessive potty accidents indoors. This is typically the result of poor potty routines within the previous home so we do typically get them on track fairly quickly. As an IG parent you must be willing to commit to a structured and reasonable routine to keep your iggy from having excessive indoor accidents. My house-training Status is: I know how to use designated potty pads indoors
A little more about me and my personality: I am quite beautiful and I am regal in every way.  I love the affections that humans bestow upon me, but I wouldn't say I'm a velcro dog.  I'm just happy to be hanging out with my companions and enjoying the good life.  I don't have much use for toys, but I do love to gently and politely play with my IG friends in my foster home.  My foster dad says I'm sweet and well mannered.  Apparently, I'm the best ever at walking on leash.    I am looking forward to meeting people interested in adopting me so that I can add more stolen hearts to my collection.
If I have a known medical issue or am taking any medications, they are listed here: Slightly elevated kidney numbers that we are watching.