Jameson

Houston

My name is: Jameson
Age (estimated DOB): 05-01-2011
Primary Color: Seal (Black)
Weight: 11 lbs
Gender: Male
Location (City, State): Houston, TX
My adoption readiness status: I am available for adoption
My optimal Adoptive Home: Low Energy/Activity
Moderate Energy/Activity
Has a Canine Companion
Has an Italian Greyhound Companion
Has someone that is home mostly during the day
Has someone that can come home at lunch and let me out to potty
Has an area that can be set up for me to stay in during a full work day with potty pads
Is familiar with fearful behavior and/or has experience with dogs that have been abused/neglected in their past
Has time and patience to dedicate to continuing my social rehabilitation
Has prior experience with a high energy IG
Must have a securely fenced in yard (not an available dog park area)
I Do Well With: Children under 12 unknown
Children over 12 yes
Cats yes
Other small dogs yes
Medium or Large Dogs yes
Apartment Homes maybe
At night, I prefer to sleep in: A dog bed
Walking on a leash I am currently learning about being on a leash and will have this down in no time!
Crate training-please note that we teach crating as a 'safe happy personal space' where the IG can rest/sleep when confinement is necessary. Crates should NEVER be used as a punishment or 'time out' space. I do just fine being in my crate for reasonable amounts of time.
Italian Greyhounds are known for housebreaking issues and most will have occasional accidents. Many come to us as surrenders due to excessive potty accidents indoors. This is typically the result of poor potty routines within the previous home so we do typically get them on track fairly quickly. As an IG parent you must be willing to commit to a structured and reasonable routine to keep your iggy from having excessive indoor accidents. My house-training Status is: Occasional accidents
We are working on it!
I know how to use designated potty pads indoors
A little more about me and my personality: Hi! I’m Jameson. I am a little shy but very sweet. I have a spunky streak...if someone wants play with me, I’m ready! I am still learning how to be a regular dog after spending time in a hoarding situation, but I am coming along beautifully. I interact well with my two big dog foster sisters. I like to steal their bones and hoard them. Hee hee! I have kitty foster siblings too. I’m more shy with them than with the big dogs! My foster mom thinks I would do especially well with another dog my size to play with. I like attention and being near my foster family. Even if I don’t spend a lot of time in their laps yet, my foster mom can tell I want to. I’m ready to find my forever family and settle into a loving and happy life.