Capri

Fostering in Dallas/Fort Worth

My name is: Capri
Age (estimated DOB): 3/19/11
Primary Color: Blue (Gray)
Weight: 14-15 lbs
Gender: Female
Location (City, State): Dallas, Tx
My adoption readiness status: My foster home is helping me with a behavioral, emotional, or medical situation, so I would only be available at this time to a family willing and able to take on and commit to a special needs IG
My optimal Adoptive Home: Low Energy/Activity
Has a Canine Companion
Has an Italian Greyhound Companion
Is okay with a dog that prefers canine companionship to human companionship
Is familiar with fearful behavior and/or has experience with dogs that have been abused/neglected in their past
Has time and patience to dedicate to continuing my social rehabilitation
I Do Well With: Children under 12 no
Children over 12 yes
Cats unknown
Other small dogs yes
Medium or Large Dogs yes
Apartment Homes no
At night, I prefer to sleep in: My kennel
A dog bed
Walking on a leash I walk very well on a leash and enjoy going for walks
Crate training-please note that we teach crating as a 'safe happy personal space' where the IG can rest/sleep when confinement is necessary. Crates should NEVER be used as a punishment or 'time out' space. I consider the crate my safe space and don't mind being in there at all for reasonable amounts of time. If the door is left open, I will put myself inside to rest.
Italian Greyhounds are known for housebreaking issues and most will have occasional accidents. Many come to us as surrenders due to excessive potty accidents indoors. This is typically the result of poor potty routines within the previous home so we do typically get them on track fairly quickly. As an IG parent you must be willing to commit to a structured and reasonable routine to keep your iggy from having excessive indoor accidents. My house-training Status is: Occasional accidents
A little more about me and my personality: Hello my name is Capri, and I’m here to tell you all the exciting things about me. Some things I enjoy doing is going on walks, going to the dog park, taking warm baths and going outside to sunbathe with my foster brother and sisters. I love to get bully sticks, treats, and food from my foster family. When it’s time to eat breakfast and dinner, I wait patiently in my spot where I eat. When I lay down in my bed I feel protected, especially when my foster brother lays with me. When my foster family eats dinner, I always want to have a little taste of it! I always follow my foster family to their room, to feel a part of the family. When it’s time to go to bed, the most exciting part of that time is that I get treats!! When my foster mom takes me outside along with my foster brother and sisters, I always want to play with them. After I go to the bathroom in the morning and my foster family goes off to school and work, I am always listening to see when it’s time to go into my crate. My favorite part of the day is, when my foster family comes home from work and school. When they come inside of the house, I am just barking my head off because I am so excited to see them. Some things I like about myself is that, everyday I’m learning how to trust other people and that I have a unique walk. I love the way I walk, considering that it shows the way I express myself! I love the outside world since I can run free and learn new things I didn’t know before!
If I have a known medical issue or am taking any medications, they are listed here: Due to severe neglect in my past, I need to take Fluoxetine 10 MG once a day.  With this medication, I feel calm and playful especially when food is served. It is very affordable.