Bari

Fostering in Sherman

My name is: Bari
Age (estimated DOB): 08/19/2012
Primary Color: Red
Weight: 11
Gender: Male
Location (City, State): Sherman, Tx
My adoption readiness status: My foster home is helping me with a behavioral, emotional, or medical situation, so I would only be available at this time to a family willing and able to take on and commit to a special needs IG
My optimal Adoptive Home: Low Energy/Activity
Has Adults Only in it
Has a Canine Companion
Has an Italian Greyhound Companion
Has someone that is home mostly during the day
Is okay with a dog that prefers canine companionship to human companionship
Is familiar with fearful behavior and/or has experience with dogs that have been abused/neglected in their past
Has time and patience to dedicate to continuing my social rehabilitation
Must have a securely fenced in yard (not an available dog park area)
Must be in Texas or Oklahoma- out of state adoption would be highly unlikely for me
I Do Well With: Children under 12 no
Children over 12 no
Cats yes
Other small dogs yes
Medium or Large Dogs unknown
Apartment Homes no
At night, I prefer to sleep in: My kennel
A dog bed
Walking on a leash I do fine on a leash for trips to the vet or other outings, but I don't particularly care for long walks
Crate training-please note that we teach crating as a 'safe happy personal space' where the IG can rest/sleep when confinement is necessary. Crates should NEVER be used as a punishment or 'time out' space. I consider the crate my safe space and don't mind being in there at all for reasonable amounts of time. If the door is left open, I will put myself inside to rest.
Italian Greyhounds are known for housebreaking issues and most will have occasional accidents. Many come to us as surrenders due to excessive potty accidents indoors. This is typically the result of poor potty routines within the previous home so we do typically get them on track fairly quickly. As an IG parent you must be willing to commit to a structured and reasonable routine to keep your iggy from having excessive indoor accidents. My house-training Status is: Very rare or no indoor accidents
A little more about me and my personality:

Bari’s estimated birthday is 8/19/12, a very slim 11 lb, handsome red and tan boy with white markings, he is fostering with IGCA Rescue North Texas.  Bari is a special needs puppy mill rescue still working hard on socialization, human trust and physical attention.

With patience’s and love he has learned that touch is not always bad. Often, we have “petting therapy” sessions with a special pup blend essential oil on a bed outside of his kennel.  He grew to tolerate this quickly and now seems to enjoy this time.  While still extremely skittish he will sniff your fingers and take treats from your hand.  If leashed he can be coaxed into allowing a few pets and those much-loved scratches behind his ears. Lately he has begun to “stay” on command and allow quiet, slow approaches for free standing/unleashed petting.   Additionally, he has begun coming up to the sofa to ask foster mom for treats.  A bean bag chair, especially for him to use in the living room, has become a favorite spot to cuddle up and nap when it is quiet.  We use this relaxation time to cover, scratch and pet him.

Bari is house trained with rare accidents, often using dog bells at the backdoor when you aren’t responding to the “potty dance” quickly enough.  Additionally, he will use puppy pads if he can’t get outside and learned to use a supervised doggie door while visiting another foster home.  He knows "take a break" for “potty", “go home" to get in his kennel and "let’s go" to move from place to place and to coax him during leash walks.  He has done beautifully walking on a leash when he follows his foster brother’s lead to follow.  His leash skills are somewhat limited, but he has a grand start.

Bari is smart boy and picks up very quickly on household routines.   He prefers the companionship of other IG’s and small dogs and isn’t frightened of cats.  He thrives when he has the companionship of a multi-dog home.  He likes to follow and watch the other dogs and socialize with them.

Everyone who spends time with Bari grows to love him.  The happy dance he does, when he knows he is going outside, and his frolic through the yard as he runs back to the door is joyful to watch.  He fits in beautifully with a group of dogs as he is easy and demands no attention causing jealousy. He prefers his kennel and a comfortable bed to toys and attention

Bari needs a special companion dog, the more the merrier, people to love him and continue to work on his rehabilitation.  Experience with mill dogs/special needs is preferred.   No children in the home and/or visiting and a fenced in yard are must have criteria for adoption.

Do you and your pets have a place in your home and hearts to become Bari’s forever family?

If I have a known medical issue or am taking any medications, they are listed here: Bari has a sensitive stomach and must remain on limited ingredient or lowfat foods.  These are commercially available.  Currently, he’s on a daily probiotic available at online retailers.